Recent Activities

National Best Presented Annual Report Award Distributed

Coinciding with the oath taking ceremony, the Institute has awarded National Best Presented Annual Report Award for the fiscal year 2016/17. The national BPA Award 2017 has been held under the category of Banking Sector (Private and Public Sector), Financial Sector (Including Development Banks and Finance Companies), Insurance Sector, Public Interest Entity, General Sector, Service Sector, Manufacturing Sector and others. Organizations having their financial statements prepared based on Nepal Financial Reporting Standards (NFRS) and having fulfilled minimum standards were only considered for evaluation and selection.

The Best Presented Annual Report Awards are an effective means of identifying and rewarding good practice in public reporting, financial and non-financial and bridges the gap that exists between all the hard work that goes into preparing them and the reason why we do them. Best Presented Annual Report Awards help promote excellence and we anticipate that they will continue to perform this valued role as we evolve a Nepal Financial Reporting Framework, Companies Act, Taxation Laws and Other Legislations. 

Citizen Bank International Limited, Standard Chartered Bank Limited and Nepal SBI Bank Limited simultaneously were declared winner, first runner up and 2nd runner up under the category of Banking Sector (Private and Public Sector) whereas, Karja Suchana Kendra Limited (Credit Information Bureau Limited) has been awarded as winner under General Category. Likewise, Oriental Hotel (Radisson Hotel Limited) stood first in Service Sector stream and lastly, Bottlers Nepal Limited and Butwal Power Company Limited was declared winner and first runner up in Manufacturing Sector. 

The Best presented annual report awards were distributed form the gamut of Honorable Finance Minister of Nepal Dr. Yubaraj Khatiwada in the special ceremony organized at Hotel Annapurna, Durbarmarg, Kathmandu, Nepal on 17 July, 2018 in the presence of Honorable Auditor General Mr. Tanka Mani Sharma (Dangal).

The program was addressed by Chief Guest of the program Finance Minister Dr. Yuba Raj Khatiwada where he extended all outgoing Council Members and Immediate Past President for being successful in delivering ICAN mandate and effectively executing ICAN’s Vision. He also extended best wishes to ICAN 8th Council Members for their successful tenure.

He urged ICAN members to provide necessary support in achieving Government's vision and strongly regulating the financial reporting standards as well as imposing disciplinary actions. He assured Government assumes ICAN as important part of economy and ICAN should play its part by providing valuable suggestions in budget, taxation laws and other corporate laws. President CA. Jagannath Upadhyay (Niraula) presented him token of love.